Why do so many keep up with the vacuous Kardashians?

The Kardashians, I hate that I know who they are and that I follow the latest ‘news’ about them. Kim is divorcing – why do we even care? Emma McDonald ponders why this is.

Kim Kardashian and her clan (or should that be klan?) only came on my radar during the most recent school holidays when I discovered my teenagers glued to the television.

Frustrated by their inertia, I enquired as to what was keeping them indoors. Keeping Up With The Kardashians, I was told (as if I was a complete moron).

Up until that moment in my life, I thought Kardashians were fictional aliens on Star Trek. Now I know they are in fact a family of non-fictional nobodies from Los Angeles called Kim, Khloe, Kourtney, Kendall, Kylie and Kris who have their own reality television show.

Since my recent epiphany, I have come to realise that this family is strangely ubiquitous. In addition to the television show, I now regularly notice Kardashians on multiple magazine covers near the supermarket checkout and this week, pack-leader, Kim and one of her K-named sisters are in Australia to spruik their “fashion” label and attend, among other things, the spring racing carnival in Melbourne. One has to ask oneself, why do these women command so much of the world’s media attention and why on earth are they famous?

Read the rest here.

Leave a Reply

