Gattaca quotes

Vincent : There’s no gene for fate.
Jerome : If at first you dont succeed… try, try again.
Vincent : We shed 500 million cells a day.
Vincent : He had everything except desire.
Vincent : You want to know how I did it? This is how I did it, Anton: I never saved anything for the swim back.
Vincent : I was never more certain of how far away I was from my goal than when I was standing right beside it.
Jerome : We have to get drunk immediately.
Vincent : They used to say that a child conceived in love has a greater chance of happiness. They don’t say that anymore.
Vincent : We now have discrimination down to a science.
Jerome : I got the better end of the deal. I only lent you my body – you lent me your dream.
Vincent : There’s more vodka in this piss than there is piss.
Vincent : For someone who was never meant for this world, I must admit I am having a hard time leaving it. Although they say every atom in our bodies was once part of a star. Maybe I’m not leaving… maybe I’m going home.
Antonio : Son, the only time you’re going to see the inside of a space shuttle is if you’re cleaning it.
Dr. Lamar : Jerome, never shy, pisses on command. Beautiful piece of equipment you’ve got there Jerome. I ever told you that?
Vincent : Only every time I’m in here.
Dr. Lamar : Occupational hazard. I see a great many on the course of any given day. Your’s just happens to be an exceptional example. Don’t know why my folks didn’t order one like that for me.
Vincent : Is the only way you can succeed is to see me fail?
Dr. Lamar : Jermone Jerome, the metronome.
Vincent : Blood has no nationality
Dr. Lamar : For future reference, right handed men don’t hold it with their left… just one of those things…
Vincent : What’s this?
Dr. Lamar : New Policy, what’s the matter? Flight got you nervous.
Vincent : Nope, there’s a problem Lamar…
Dr. Lamar : …I still haven’t told you about my son have I. He’s a big fan of yours…
Vincent : Just remember. I was as good as any, and better than most…
Dr. Lamar : …He wants to apply here…
Vincent : …I could’ve gone up and back and nobody would’ve been the wiser…
Dr. Lamar : …unfortunately my son’s not all that they promised. But then again, who knows what he could do.
[test reveals Vincent as invalid]
Dr. Lamar : For future reference, right handed men don’t hold it with their left. Just one of those things.
[Lamar hits button revealing Jerome’s valid i.d]
Vincent : [Vincent stares into Lamar eyes, hesitating]
Dr. Lamar : You’re gonna miss your flight Vincent.
Vincent : You are the authority on what is not possible, aren’t you Irene? They’ve got you looking for any flaw, that after a while that’s all you see. For what it’s worth, I’m here to tell you that it is possible. It is possible.
Vincent : I can’t go anywhere without seeing my own face. They’ll recognize me.
Jerome : They won’t recognize you.
Vincent : They’ll recognize me.
Jerome : I don’t recognize you.
Vincent : It’s funny, you work so hard, you do everything you can to get away from a place, and when you finally get your chance to leave, you find a reason to stay.
Vincent : A year is a long time.
Irene : Not so long. Just once around the sun.
Vincent : What about the interview?
Dr. Lamar : That was it.
Vincent : They think I killed the mission director.
Jerome : What makes you think that?
Vincent : They found my eye lash.
Jerome : Where?
Vincent : In the corridor.
Jerome : Ah well it could be worse. They could have found it in your eye.
Younger Vincent : Don’t eat that, it’s Pluto.
Vincent : I’ll never understand what possessed my mother to put her faith in God’s hands, rather than her local geneticist.
[During his transformation into “Jerome”]
German : There’s still the matter of your height.
Vincent : How tall are you?
Jerome : 4’6″
Vincent : I meant before your accident.
[After vomiting]
Jerome : Do you want some of this? I could keep it for you in case you ever need it… I’m sorry. Sorry.
Vincent : How’d you get up here?
Jerome : I’ve been able to walk this whole time, I was just faking it.
Jerome : What’s your number? That’s harassment. What’s your number?
Vincent: “Jerome Morrow…. It’s a nice name”
Eugene: “It’s my name.”
Vincent: “I can’t be you without it.”
I’ll never understand what possesed my mother to put her faith in God’s hands, rather than those of her local geneticist. “
“I not only think I will tamper with Mother Nature, I think Mother Nature wants me to. William Gaylin”
“They used to say that a child conceived in love had a greater chance of happiness. They don’t say that anymore”
“Manic depression, 42% probability, attention deficit disorder 89% probability, heart disorder 99% probability.”


Leave a Reply

