Making sense of modern rugby

In this column NZ writer Joe Bennett tells us what he thinks of our national game. Read the rest here.

Things change, and it is the duty of crusty old men to bemoan change.

Take rugby. I used to play rugby and I understood the rules. The main rule was to avoid fights, large opponents and, as far as possible, the ball.

The older I got the better I became at obeying this rule and I found rugby an increasingly pleasant way to pass a Saturday afternoon.

And it led to an even more pleasant Saturday evening that had a habit of stretching into Sunday.

Last weekend I watched a Super 14 game on television, thereby doubling the ratings. I found that I no longer understood the sport.

Leave a Reply

