Orwell and ‘Unpleasant Facts’

We are trying to learn about George Orwell the writer and we can start with his own words:

‘I knew that I had a facility with words and a power of facing unpleasant facts’.

Why I write’, 1944. Article for The Tribune

It was this capacity for stating unpleasant facts that formed the basis of his writing. He said about his craft:

What I have most wanted to do throughout the past ten years is to make
political writing into an art. My starting point is always a feeling of partisanship, a sense of injustice. When I sit down to write a book, I do not say to myself, “I am going to produce a work of art.” I write it because there is some lie that I want to expose, some fact to which I want to draw attention, and my initial concern is to get a hearing. But I could not do the work of writing a book, or even a long magazine article, if it were not also an aesthetic experience.

Leave a Reply

